Thesis It! Most Outstanding Thesis Awards 2017

April 21, 2017

Chosen for their exceptional research and revolutionary output, STI recognized young innovators for this year’s Most Outstanding Student Thesis (MOST) Awards on April 21, 2017 at STI College – OrtigasCainta.

(From left) STI College – Fairview BSCpE representatives Deanne Andes, Gil Carbon, Ben Zaa Lee Cabunilas, and John Emmanuel Herrera

The BSCpE group demonstrates how the speed limiter works

Under the Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering (BSCpE) program, STI College – Fairview’s students Gil Carbon, Ben Zaa Lee Cabunilas, John Emmanuel Herrera, and Deanne Andes took home the winning title through their ground-breaking thesis entitled MCU-based Speed Limiter Using GPS Technology. Supervised by their adviser Mr. Leodigario Bongco, their study aimed to use the GPS-based Speed Limiter in vehicles to reduce speedrelated accidents which are a very prominent problem on the streets these days. Other finalists who showcased their innovations are from STI College – Balayan, STI College – Balagtas, and STI College – San Pablo

(From left) STI College – Balagtas BSCS representatives Neil Arvin Co, Filemon Clemente Jr., Joshan Mayo Silverio, and Calvin Rence Rafols

Filemon Clemente Jr. demonstrates how to navigate their mobile app

For the Bachelor of Science in Computer Science (BSCS) program, the winning thesis entitled Bulacan Tourists Attraction Augmented Reality wowed the jury with its innovative mobile app designed to contribute to the tourism industry through its display of 3D tourist attraction models and related information which comes in different foreign languages. This was developed by STI College – Balagtas’ representatives Filemon Clemente Jr., Neil Arvin Co, Calvin Rence Rafols, and Joshan Mayo Silverio under the supervision of their thesis adviser Mr. Raldy Henry Almonte. Other finalists for the BSCS program came from STI College – Recto and STI College – Sta. Maria

MOST is a program-based national level commendation for outstanding thesis projects across the STI network. The winning theses were chosen by a panel of judges from the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), Philippine Society of Information Technology Educators (PSITE), and the Institute of Computer Engineers of the Philippines (ICPep)