NBT 2017 Set Arena for the Champs

April 26, 2017

The most anticipated tournament has finally concluded with an exciting roundup of players from 51 STI campuses nationwide! This season's National Basketball Tournament (NBT) opened on February 4, 2017 and culminated with a tight championship game on April 25, 2017 at STI Academic Center in Ortigas-Cainta.

All of our players underwent intense training in preparation for this tournament, but there was only one spot for the champion title, which was bagged by the team from STI College – Santa Rosa. The team of STI West Negros University followed as this year's 1st runner-ups, and just behind them in 2nd runner-up was STI College – Balagtas.

Beating their worthy opponents with the score 84-72, the STI College – Santa Rosa is this year’s STI NBT National Champion!

Consistently upping their game, here’s the 2017 STI NBT 1st Runner-up: the team from STI – West Negros University!

Coming in at the 2nd Runner-up place is the team from STI College – Balagtas!

Mythical Five: Jericho Nograles from STI Academic Center – Las Piñas, Renz Solomon and Jaycee Adjie from STI – West Negros, Jan Almoro and June Aliparo from STI College – Santa Rosa

The Most Valuable Player (MVP) award goes to June Aliparo from STI College – Santa Rosa.

The teams from Luzon who made it to the finals event were STI College – Balagtas, STI College –Ortigas-Cainta, STI College – Santa Rosa, STI College – Caloocan, STI College – Las Piñas, and STI College – Novaliches. Hailing from Visayas was STI West Negros University, and representing Mindanao was STI College – Koronadal.

The team from STI College – Balagtas battled it out with STI College – Las Piñas for the third place with a score of 91-64, while STI College – Santa Rosa won its champion title over STI West Negros University with a score of 84-72.

Our players went through the single-elimination round wherein the winners of each bracket moved on to the three-round elimination. The eight last standing teams then joined the National Finals and were subsequently divided into groups A and B during the National Finals. The four teams in each group competed against each other and the top two teams then engaged in a cross-over semi-finals where the losing teams battled for 3rd place and the winners advanced to the Championship game.

The event also introduced the tournament’s most exceptional players as they announced the Mythical 5: June Aliparo and Jan Almoro of STI College – Santa Rosa, Jaycee Adjie and Renz Solomon of STI West Negros University, and Jerico Nograles of STI College – Las Piñas.

NBT's first staging in 2015 saw STI College – Global City win the title while STI West Negros University snagged it in 2016. 2018 will be another exciting year as we look forward if STI College – Santa Rosa will be able to hold on to their title or a new powerhouse team will emerge as champions!